A Visit to the Used Bookstore Near My House

Standard

I have a used bookstore near my house. It’s about a 4 minute walk away, just between the Chinese grocery (which sells cheap veggies and noodles) and the 24-hour high-end grocery store (which despite my dearest wishes, did not have fancy hot chocolate). On a recent trip (for the aforementioned fancy hot chocolate), I decided to stop in to check out the bookstore’s offerings. This would serve two purposes:

  1. to see if I could get any of the books on my YA Materials booklist, and
  2. to complete the “YA Section” visit for class.

The YA section was a bit messy.

I took a look around the bookshop. It must be mentioned that it is a bookstore that sells those materials it acquires from donations, so selection can be scarce. First, I looked for the YA Section. It covered two five-shelf bookshelves, and books were piled on top of the other books and stashed on top of the bookshelves. It was rather messy. As I browsed, looking for the class books especially, it became very obvious that the books were not put into any order–two copies of a book by Avi, for example, were on the second shelf and the seventh shelf. I confirmed with the clerk: while other sections of the store were sorted alphabetically within the category, the YA section was not. The clerk suggested that mess was due to the constantly fluctuating size and content of the YA section. Perhaps the books sold more quickly?

The YA section was near the classics section and nearly on the other side of the store from the children’s section, which I think covered only picture books. The children’s section of the store was the only section decorated to match it’s content in any way, though the decorations were not plentiful.

The YA selection was diverse, though not fruitful in the case of the class texts. Some of the texts were clearly intended for younger audiences (e.g. the Junie B. Jones series) while others were solidly in the YA age range (e.g. The Uglies). Few very popular titles were available.

While the overall impression of the used bookstore may seem to be less than positive, the bookstore did achieve its intended purpose–I purchased Eragon for only $4.00, and the one class text I already owned, Sabriel, would have cost only $2.80. Stock is constantly changing and any young reader would have a variety to choose from, even if there would be a bit of a hunt involved. I rather enjoyed my visit to the bookstore.

3 thoughts on “A Visit to the Used Bookstore Near My House

  1. Another issue I’ve had with this bookstore is that I often find YA materials shelved in the general or adult fiction section. While I’m sure adults would enjoy them as well I think it’s more likely that adults would be willing to go to the YA section rather than young people outside of it. Did you also notice that they keep graphic novels/comic books/ manga in completely different sections of the store? For whatever reason the manga was in a separate room with the dvd’s and cd’s

    • Haha, I just decided that that room was ‘media with pictures’ and moved on. I think that manga probably has a wider audience than just young adults–it was also placed in a way that made it the first thing you saw when you entered the room.

      • It used to be in the main room but got moved in there a little while ago.
        I think it does have a wide audience, but so do YA novels. Manga also tends to have a rating on the back cover…come to think about it it might just be the “adult” manga that was in there.

Leave a Reply

